Who are Mirror Gorillas? (4 pretty cool guys)

As my music taste is predominantly based around the Indie genre, discovering Mirror Gorillas felt like Christmas had come early. They are everything I love about music and more. The band is made up of 4 pretty cool guys, Harry Willicombe is in charge of the vocals, Sam Butcher is on guitar whilst doing some backup vocals, Tim Stamper on Bass Guitar and finally, Jamie Slater on drums.

When I first came across the band, I had a feeling I would like them just from their style and the way they presented themselves on social media platforms. But I had no idea how good their music would be, 23 seconds into their demo named ‘Sunny In Philadelphia’ and I knew for certain that this band have a talent I haven’t seen in many bands. The rawness of Harry’s vocals added to the incredible instrumental amounted to a very good track.

However, this isn’t the only song the guys have made. On their soundcloud page (www.soundcloud.com/mirrorgorillas) they have another demo named ‘Greyfriars Rd.’, which was just as good as the previous track mentioned. But after a little further searching, I came across their youtube channel that had a few extra songs I hadn’t seen on the soundcloud page.

The one above, for example, entitled ‘Charlotte’ has very quickly become one of my favourite songs down to not only the incredible song, but also how creative they were with the video. I can hand on heart say that this has been the most played song for me this week, and I’m sure you would love it too if indie is your preferred genre.

As well as the immense talent the guys hold, they also seem like the sweetest people, they are always connecting with their fans on twitter and Facebook, and you can definitely see why they have support. My advice to you is to check them out, as they are one of the most talented bands around, and I was very lucky to discover them so it’s only fair that I share their talent with you.

If you want to discover more about the band you can find them here:
http://www.soundcloud.com/mirrorgorillas
http://www.twitter.com/mirrorgorillas
https://www.facebook.com/mirrorgorillas

Leave a Reply

