Thank you Viola Beach.

I am aware that this isn’t a review, but I had a few final words to say about the absolutely incredible Viola Beach.

It’s not often that a band mean that much to me that I feel emotions like this when something happens, but Viola Beach are one of the few that have completely captured me. Maybe it was the music itself, maybe it was the way the way they spoke to their fans or maybe it was just how nice they always were, I’m not sure of the reason, but I’m sure of the fact that they were too young and too talented to be struck by this tragedy.

After hearing them by chance on Soundcloud back in November, I was always listening to Swings & Waterslides due to how much of a happy, feel-good song it was, and as soon as they released Boys Who Sing and Like A Fool back in January, I was absolutely ecstatic to hear the new music and excited for what was to come. It was amazing watching them gain more and more recognition and even seeing when they began to be played on the Radio. Every single time I (or any of their other fans) tweeted them, they would always reply in such a friendly and loving way, and it was amazing to be in such a close-knit and small fanbase.

I will be honest, when I saw the tweets at 2am this morning regarding the crash, I refused to believe that it was them, flat out refused. And I stayed awake most of the night, hoping and praying that it was some big misunderstanding, but as we all know, it wasn’t. And when the confirmation came through, it broke my heart.

I know that I didn’t know them personally, but when a band have that much of an influence upon you, it hits you so hard if something happens to them. The word devastated doesn’t even come close to describing how I feel right now. We have lost 4 very young, talented and kind people, and I can only hope that there are Swings & Waterslides on the other side.

So thank you Kris, River, Jack and Tomas for providing me and many other people with happiness and your wonderful music.

šŸ¬ forever. xx

One thought on “Thank you Viola Beach.

  1. I like most of the world was introduced to their music only after learning of their fate. I don’t know why this is on my mind so much. Maybe it’s because they were almost all teenagers. Maybe it’s because the music they put out was just so happy and Summery and optimistic, and FUN… and watching them perform it you get the feeling that they wanted their audience to have as much fun listening to them as they were having playing it. I dunno. All I know is I’ve downloaded everything I could from them and have been listening, a LOT. It’s just a sad, sad situation. And can you imagine what the 2 guys who quit the band months ago must be dealing with right now??

    Like

Leave a Reply

