Film Review – Palo Alto

Palo Alto is extremely well known and loved across the indie community so I thought it was about time I found out what all the fuss was about.

And I’m sad to say that I was incredibly disappointed. From the hype I had previously seen on social media I was prepared for an in-depth storyline that was easy to love, but for me, Palo Alto lacked any kind of strong storyline. This surprised me due to the fact that the incredible James Franco was the creator of the short story that inspired the film

The cinematography was absolutely beautiful at many different parts, but it just lacked charisma and depth through the plot. In regards to choice of actors it was brilliant, Jack Kilmer is a particular favourite for the emotion he put into his character.

I just felt that I was waiting for something major to happen and it never did, it also felt like the film ended with a lack of closure on the minuscule sub-plots that were occurring. Did April and Teddy get together? Did Fred die? All of these questions could’ve been answered easily.

So unfortunately Palo Alto only gets a 2/5 from me. The film had so much potential with the acting talent that was provided but it just didn’t go anywhere for me.

 

Leave a Reply

